

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING—UNIT 431 VICTORIA MINUTES

Zoom—Friday, February 24, 2023, 12:00 p.m.

Board Members Present: Board Member Regrets:

JP Weber Maureen Trappe Gail Argatoff

Ruth Davies Ernie Tradewell

Ele Gibson Madeleine Tremblay

Elaine Busch Jill Plasteras

Unit Members Present:

Alison Campbell **Doug Scott** Shelley Burnham Margot Young Andrea Miller Nicole Dupuis Judith Irwin Farhad Rohani Mary Ellen Fisher Terry Foster Norma Broderick Janice Closson Margaret Skinner Deb Wastle Ann Brydon Judy Coulter

1. Call to order and opening remarks

Maureen Trappe

The meeting was called to order at 12:06 p.m.

2. **Motion:** Jill Plasteras moved that the shortened timeline from notification of AGM to actual meeting be accepted on a one-time basis. Seconded by Ernie Tradewell. **Carried**

3. Approval of Agenda

Maureen Trappe

Motion: Janice Closson moved that the agenda be approved, seconded by Ruth Davies. **Carried.**

4. Approval of 2022 AGM minutes

Maureen Trappe

Motion: Jill Plasteras moved that the 2022 AGM Minutes be approved, seconded by Ruth Davies. **Carried.**

5. **Business arising from minutes.** No business arising from the minutes. Maureen Trappe

6. **Reports**

a. President's report

Maureen Trappe

Maureen Trappe thanked the Board for the work they have done over this last year. Membership currently stands at 441 with more than 60% of members having less than 300 points. New members are joining as they start to feel comfortable with our Duplicate-Light initiative. A big congratulations and thank you to Jill Stainforth and Ele Gibson for all their work getting this established. The D-Light game is enjoying a steady 6 tables and sometimes more.

This year saw a general return to in-person bridge. All three of our fully sanctioned clubs found venues and players returned to the tables. Unfortunately, Island Bridge was not able to continue and we now have 2 fully sanctioned clubs: Monterey and Victoria Bridge Centre at Strawberry Vale. Both clubs are showing 15 to 20 tables at each of the 4 regular games. We are also seeing a return to celebration games: Christmas and New Year games were well attended, and a good time was had by all who came to play.

More good news comes from Ruth with the Tournament report.

b. Treasurer's Report

Jill Plasteras

2022 Unit financial statements were presented as reviewed by Jim Alexander.

Motion: Jill Plasteras moved that the financial statements as of December 31, 2022, reviewed by Jim Alexander be approved as presented, seconded by Madeleine Tremblay.

Carried.

c. Membership report

Ele Gibson

Attached

d. Tournament report

Ruth Davies

Attached

7. Announcements and Awards

Maureen Trappe

8. We remember all those bridge friends we lost during the past year: Denice McColl, Jane McAllister, Shirley Grace, David Squance, Jane Poole, Janet McGregor, Judith Kowal, George Laing.

First place winners for Ace of Clubs (Unit events) and Mini-McKenney (any ACBL event).

MP Range	Ace of Clubs	Mini-McKenney
0-5	Marsha Ross	Marsha Ross
5-20	Brian Hewitt	Brian Hewitt
20-50	Sophie Watt	Judy Coulter
50-100	John Heck	John Heck
100-200	Elizabeth Eng	Elizabeth Eng
200-300	Janette Magne	Janette Magne
300-500	Margot Young	Margot Young
500-1000	Madeleine Tremblay	Madeleine Tremblay
1000-1500	Charles Christie	Esther Wiebe
1500-2500	Terry Foster	Terry Foster
2500-3500	Debbie Wastle	Danielle Goulet

3500-5000	Ewa M. Zwicky	Ewa M. Zwicky
5000-7500	Ernie Tradewell	Gordon R. McOrmond
7500-10000	Sandra Fraser	Michael Hargreaves
10000 Plus	Rhonda Foster	Gerry McCully

New Life Masters this past year include. Johanna Daam, Jill Plasteras, Mark Raymond, Al Schyf and Madeleine Tremblay.

9. Election of Board of Directors

- a. Board members continuing for their 2-year term: JP Weber, Ernie Tradewell, Madeleine Tremblay, Ele Gibson, Elaine Busch, Ruth Davies and Gail Argatoff.
- b. Board members standing for re-election: Maureen Trappe and Jill Plasteras.
- c. Nominations for Election to Board of Directors: Maureen Trappe, Jill Plasteras, Farhad Rohani and Janice Closson.

There were no additional nominations after 2 calls for nominations from the floor.

Maureen Trappe welcomed all elected members to the Unit 431 Board of Directors for a 2-year term.

8. **New Business** Maureen Trappe

No new business was brought forward.

9. Adjournment

Maureen Trappe

Motion: Ernie Tradewell moved, and Deb Wastle seconded that the meeting be adjourned at 12:45.

Carried

Minutes prepared by Maureen Trappe, Secretary
Approved by Ruth Davies, Vice-President