

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING—UNIT 431 VICTORIA MINUTES

Zoom—Sunday, February 27, 2022, 3:00 p.m.

Board Members Present:

JP Weber	Maureen Trappe
Gail Richardson	Gloria Dorrance
Mark Raymond	Madeleine Tremblay
Ernie Tradewell	Jill Plasteras
Al Romanchuk	

Unit Members Present:

Mel Zimmerman	Alexis Martfeld	Alison Campbell	Bette Flannigan	Doug Scott
Jo Albinati	Elaine Busch	Eleanor Calder	Gail Argatoff	Jill Stainforth
Sheila Kaye	Holly Boudreau	Kay Kerr	Nancy Baal	Terry Foster
Bob Sommerhalder	Margaret Skinner	Ruth Davies	Heather Erskine	Gillian Mouat
Jan Galenza	Ann Brydon	Ele Gibson		

1. Call to order and opening remarks

The meeting was called to order at 3:03 p.m.

2. Approval of Agenda **Motion:** Jill Plasteras moved that the agenda be approved, seconded by Elaine Busch.

Carried.

- 3. Approval of 2021 AGM minutes Gail Richardson **Motion:** Madeleine Tremblay moved that the 2021 AGM Minutes be approved, seconded by Shelley Burnham. Carried.
- 4. Business arising from minutes. No business arising from the minutes. Gail Richardson

5. Reports

a. President's report

Gail Richardson thanked the Board for the work they have done over this last year. ACBL changed all the Units' responsibilities regarding discipline resulting in a new ACBL Standing Disciplinary Committee. Our representatives on that Committee are Ruth Davies, Mike Dickie, Jon Preston and Mark Raymond.

Membership currently stands at 482 with 62% of members having less than 300 points. Other accomplishments of note during the past year are updates of all the Board job descriptions; Mark Raymond completed an update of all inventory and assets; Madeleine Tremblay issued 2 Bridge Buzzes during the year and JP Weber created an on-line directory of our membership.

Board Member Regrets: Tony Dason

Gail Richardson

Gail Richardson

Gail Richardson

b. Treasurer's Report

2021 Unit financial statements were presented as reviewed by Jim Alexander.

Motion: Alison Campbell moved that the financial statements as of December 31, 2021, reviewed by Jim Alexander be approved as presented, seconded by Mark Raymond.

Carried

6. Announcements and Awards

a. New Life Masters for 2021

New Life Masters this past year include Bob MacDonald, Lynda Slater, Susan Breiddal, Mel Zimmerman, Egil Kolsto, Elaine Mauger, Louise Boudreau, Catherine Mustafa, Jan Soutar, Gina Curran, Denis Johnston and David Buckman.

b. In Memoriam

We remember all those bridge friends we lost during the past year: Peggy Wright, Noreen Grover, Agnes Dummer, Barry Cormier, Peter Bousfield, Margaret Hurd, Joan Davis, Marjorie McDonald, Lyn Jones, Emrys Evans, and Tom Pelton.

c. Awards: Ace of Clubs and Mini-McKinney

First place winners for Ace of Clubs (Unit events) and Mini-McKinney (any ACBL event).

MP Range	Ace of Clubs	Mini-McKenney	
0-5	Judy Coulter	Judy Coulter	
5-20	Christie Ulmer	Christie Ulmer	
20-50	Marlene Howell	Marlene Howell	
50-100	Janette Magne	Janette Magne	
100-200	Gillian Mouat	Gillian Mouat	
200-300	Margot Young	Margot Young	
300-500	Madeleine Tremblay	Madeleine Tremblay	
500-1000	Mel Zimmerman	Jill Plasteras	
1000-1500	Heather Erskine	Heather Erskine	
1500-2500	Terry Foster	Terry Foster	
2500-3500	Debbie Wastle	Debbie Wastle	
3500-5000	James Galand	James Galand	
5000-7500	Ernie Tradewell	Michael Hargreaves	
7500-10000	Brian Fraser	Brian Fraser	
10000 Plus	Gerry McCully	Gerry McCully	

Gail Richardson

Gail Richardson

Gail Richardson

Jill Plasteras

7. Proposed amendments to Bylaws

Mark Raymond moved Bylaw amendments to remove 2 obsolete positions—Recording Officer and Unit Charging Officer—and to change the number of board members to 'no fewer than 7 and no more than 12 persons' be approved, seconded by Madeleine Tremblay. Carried.

8. Election of Board of Directors

a. Presentation of Slate of Candidates

Board members standing for re-election: Madeleine Tremblay. Nominations for Election to the Board of Directors: Gail Argatoff, Elaine Busch, Ruth Davies, Ele Gibson, Kay Kerr and Alexis Martfeld.

b. Call for nominations from the floor

After 3 calls, there were no additional nominations from the floor.

c. Election of Board of Directors

Gail Richardson recommended that the full slate of candidates presented to the membership be appointed to the Unit 431 Board of Directors for a 2-year term. It was unanimously accepted.

9. Thank you to outgoing Board Members

Thank you to the outgoing Unit Board Directors: Gloria Dorrance (6 years), Al Romanchuk (4 years), Mark Raymond (1 year), Tony Dason (1 year) and Gail Richardson (10 years). On behalf of the Unit membership, JP Weber thanked Gail Richardson for her 10 years of service to Bridge in Victoria and presented a small token to be given to Gail at the earliest opportunity.

- 10. New Business - No new business was presented.
- 11. Adjournment was at 3:44 pm.

Minutes prepared by Maureen Trappe, Secretary Approved by Gail Richardson, President

Gail Richardson

Gail Richardson

Gail Richardson

Gail Richardson